Home Page > Uncategorized > Volunteers Recognized at Museum

The Mississippi Museum of Natural Science Foundation recently sponsored a volunteer recognition reception at the museum. Museum Director Charles Knight, Museum Assistant Director Angel Rohnke, and Volunteer Coordinator Ann Taylor recognized several volunteers for reaching milestones. 

Volunteering at the museum is an opportunity to share, learn, serve, meet people, teach, and experience the stimulating environment of Mississippi’s natural resources. Volunteer commitment in time and talents is a vital contribution to the museum’s mission and operation.

All kinds of people volunteer at the museum: teens, college students, professionals, and retirees. A wide variety of volunteer positions are available – even for SCUBA Divers! Training is provided and the number of hours you commit is flexible.

To start the process of becoming a volunteer, call the museum’s volunteer coordinator, Ann Taylor, at 601.576.6000.

Congratulations and thank you to the following volunteers!

  • Joy Rushing: 500 hours
  • Yvonne Rogers: 350 hours 
  • Lauren Ritchie: 150 hours
  • Jemeia Boone: 100 hours
  • Mary Wakefield: 50 hours
  • Eryn White: 50 hours
  • Leah Heath: 30 hours
  • Raymond Huang
  • ZhaNavyia Monley
  • Ivy Jackson

We would also like to recognize and thank the following milestone earners from July 2016 – December 2017:

  • 500+ hours: Joy Rushing
  • 350 hours: Yvonne Rogers
  • 200 hours: Halla Jo Ellis
  • 100-150 hours:
    • Anne Louise Blackwood, Paige Blackwood, Jemeia Boone, Katie Taylor, Austin Yarbrough, Janet Smart, John Davis, Taylor Dorris, Lauren Ritchie
  • 50 hours:
    • Eryn White, JJ Banks, Julia Jia, Trevor Gartman, Chloe Jackson, Hartman Marble-Wright, Sarah Grace Mitchell, Madeline Walling, Gail Buzhardt, Elizabeth Echols, Melani Wallace, Mary Wilds, Mary Wakefield
  • 20-40 hours:
    • Robert Branson, Nathan Cooke, Julius Greene, Tylen Miller, Kristina Mulvihill, Rachel Salassi, Ashley Skaines, Lowery Germany, Josey Kazery, Mike Koskie, Justin Palmer, Jean Saja, DeAndrea Magee, Matthew Blackwood, Solomon Harris, Taylor Harris, Brenna Hart, Jeanette Jansen, Ava Rachal, Andrew Wasson, Leah Heath, Abbie Lockwood, Eamy Williams, Robbie Peters, Judy Wren, Noah Hood, Josh Irby, Joseph Rachal, Peter Kuchirka, Don West